Code Trail is Getting Steep

Standard

We have been moving slow and steady up our code path for nine months now.  The trail is going higher and deeper into the trees. We just started a new path of Javascript and are feeling the burn in our legs as the incline increases. But we are making great progress every day.

javascript trail

My http://www.codemoms.org site has been updated several times as we keep learning new skills.  Some highlights of my lessons these last couple of months are:  I  have learned that all code should be written as a mobile-first approach so handheld devices can easily navigate a site. I don’t know how many times I find a site that is not coded in mobile-first and I lose interest because I just can’t see it on my phone.

I also learned how to place a small sized background image on my website that wouldn’t slow bandwidth and would still fill the page.  I picked a mountain path, of course.  We’ve learned about command line coding and Sass.  Finally, codemoms.org passed the W3C Markup Validator, which meant my code was clear of errors.  When I first scanned it, I had 21 errors. So to clean it up and pass was very exciting.

A lot of these things we have learned at Treehouse. If we get stuck on a problem, we can find answers at online support sites like Stack Overflow, CSS Tricks, and WC3. Sharing knowledge and open source is the key to helping us learn and stay on the path.

Leave a Reply

